Friday, June 7, 2013

Interesting Person Interview Series: Austin


Today I'm psyched to share my interview with my younger brother Austin.  Austin is starting Dental School at Iowa this fall, and I'm so excited for him to enjoy all that Iowa City has to offer (when he's not at the library, that is).  He's a recent college graduate (as of two weeks ago!) and has a special place in our family, and in my heart.  

Austin's interview, after the break!


What is your name, and who are you?
Austin Michael Steil

How do you know Kate?
I am Kate’s youngest brother

Tell me about a typical day in your life.
A typical day for me is hard to answer right now as my life is drastically changing.  Just a couple months ago my daily life was: wake up, go to class, eat, more class, go to the trainers, go run at practice, shower, eat, do homework and study, then relax if I had time or go straight to bed. Now it is: wake up, go to work (at Nordstrom), eat, work more, go home and relax/do research on furniture for an apartment and new computer, run, shower, eat, relax more/do more research and go to bed. In a few months I’ll be in dental school and my daily life will be: wake up, be at class from 7:00-12:00, eat/review notes  from 12:00-1:00, class and labs from 1:00-5:00, run/lift/exercise and shower and eat from 5:00-7:00, go to the library from 7:00-12:00, then head back to the apartment to pack a lunch and get ready for the next day then head to bed.

What’s the most challenging part of your life (could be a pet peeve, a work or family issue, whatever).
The most challenging part of my life right now is making the adjustment to living at home with my parents for these 2 ½ months (I haven’t lived at home for an extended period of time in 2 years), we do not go to bed at the same time like I am used to with my roommates when I was in Dubuque, we have very different conversations than I did in Dubuque, and it’s weird just not having all my best friends around all the time like I did at Loras. That being said I love having family so close and it is wonderful knowing there is always food in the house!

What are you likely to be doing at 8pm on a Saturday night?
At 8:00pm on a Saturday night usually I’m getting ready to go out with some friends to a party or a bar or just hanging out at home with some close friends. Hopefully I’ll be able to find a Saturday night or two each semester while I’m at Iowa to still have fun even though I know most Saturdays and Sundays will be spent studying and practicing lab techniques.

Paint me a picture of your life in five years.  
In five years I either hope to be a licensed dentist and be an associate dentist at a well-established and respected practice with open communication about buying it a few years later, or continuing my education towards specializing in pediatrics or cosmetic dentistry. In my personal life I would hope to be living someplace close to family if I’m ready to plant some roots or I would like to be in Colorado.

What part of your morning routine do you consider essential?
I feel every part of my morning routine is essential, if it wasn’t I would not do it. I feel the most important part is brushing my teeth (shocker, the future dentist thinks brushing is important), not only does it help protect one from harmful oral disease but it helps with breath smells which can significantly impact one’s self esteem and the mint flavor helps wake me up in the morning.

What one deceased person would you like an hour with?
If I could have an hour with one deceased person it would have to be Nicola Tesla, arguably (and in my opinion) the smartest person to ever walk the earth. I would love to have to opportunity to sit down and talk with him for an hour.

If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would you guy and why? Have you been there before?
If I could go anywhere in the world on vacation I would go to New Zealand. It is a tropical paradise; I would love to go run on the beaches and through the paths in their forests. It seems like a wonderful place to go exploring and also relax. I have never been there before and hope to one day.

If you weren’t in your current occupation, what would you like to do? 
If I weren’t headed in the direction I am to become a dentist, I would have liked to become a collegiate coach for cross country and/or track and teach biology and nutrition classes at the college level.

Thanks, Austin!  

If you're interested in participating in my interview, please send your answers to kate at katespecial dot com! 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I've turned word verification on because of spam comments. Apologies! I love your comments!