Friday, February 1, 2013

Interesting Person Interview Series: Kate


For my 29 by 29 list, #12 is to interview a series of interesting people for my blog, and I think it's time I start that off with... me :)  I've emailed a few of my most loyal blog readers and commenters, so those are coming.  In the meantime, I'd LOVE for a few others to fill out the questions below!  If you're interested, simply email me the answers to the questions below (to theyearofthekate @ gmail.com)!  


Here goes nothin':



1)       What is your name, and who are you?
My name is Kate and I am a twenty-something living and working in Chicago.  I grew up in Iowa, and take every chance I get to go back to my favorite state.  I am a college graduate, who in college did more learning outside than inside a classroom.  I am a wife who feels too young to have that title, yet is thrilled to have a husband as generous and supportive as Scott. I am an older sister to four beloved brothers, and a daughter to parents who really get me.  I am a cousinfriend to cousins who are more like sisters.  I am a friend to many and a close friend to few.  I am an avid reader, a reluctant runner, an impatient cook, a wine aficionado and guacamole connoisseur.

2)       How do you know Kate?
One in the same :)

3)       Tell me about a typical day in your life.
Scott's alarm is the first thing I hear in a morning.  He wakes up around 6:10, and I fake sleep until my alarm goes off at 6:40.  I turn on the Today Show, take a shower and get ready while watching the (listening to really) morning news.  I leave my house between 7:30 and 8 depending on the day, and usually get to work no later than 8:30.  I work until 6 or 6:30, and come home.  I work out four days a week (ok, that's a good week... it's sometimes three times) and that means running anywhere from 1-4 miles on the treadmill with a little free-weight action.  Either Scott makes dinner or I make myself something quick (in my defense, Scott likes sit-down-meals more than I do.  I'm perfectly content with a thrown-together salad, Lean Cuisine, sandwich or microwaved veggie burger).  I usually have a little work to do from home at night (emails mostly), I watch some TV, read or blog.  Lights out around 11pm.

On a weekend the routine varies gloriously.  Sleeping in is among my most favorite things, but I also enjoy the stress-relieving attributes of a good condo deep clean.   We try to make plans with friends at least once a week, and I am also big in to day-dates (even if it's just running to Target together).  On the weekends we usually take a run together (outside if we can, neighboring treadmills this time of year) and we have a few DVR'ed shows that we save up and watch together on the weekend (The Following, Homeland, Shameless).

4)       What’s the most challenging part of your life (could be a pet peeve, a work or family issue, whatever).
I can't think of a real answer to this right now, but I will say that it drives me crazy when people don't do what they say that they will.  For example, someone (a corporation that I am working with in my personal life) told me on Sunday that they would email me my invoice by Monday.  It's Thursday night, and I have yet to receive it.  I hateeeeee that.

5)       What are you likely to be doing at 8pm on a Saturday night?
I’m likely to be doing one of three things:
1)      Be out on the town drinking cheap beer and ideally watching some game
2)      Drinking red wine with friends or family at our home or theirs
3)      Lounging on the couch watching DVR’ed episodes of Scandal, L&O:SVU, or Suits

6)       Paint me a picture of your life in five years. 
I hope to live in a city that starts with a C (Chicago, Cedar Rapids, or a wildcard like Charleston).  I’d like to be a mother.  I still won't have any pets or any debt besides my mortgage.  I will have been to Europe at least one more time two more times.  I will have run a marathon.  Scott and I will be celebrating 7 years of happy marriage, and 12 years together.  I will be part of a Moms Club/Book Club/Wine Club (preferably the same club).   I will see my parents frequently (if not daily) and my brothers just as often.  I will have a yard and in-home laundry.

7)       If you could be given any gift, what would it be?
As I'm answering this I realize it's a tough question because of the way it's worded.  The best gifts I have ever been given were related to my wedding (my engagment ring, the gifts my parents gave me in terms of my wedding and reception, etc etc). 

Gifts I would like to be given would include the non-material like health for myself my family and friends, world peace, the gift of motherhood, etc etc. 

To answer materialistically, I have my eye on a pair of tan ballet flats.  :)
8)       What part of your morning routine do you consider essential?
A hot shower with good shampoo/conditioner.  If I do nothing else to get ready, this makes me feel better ready to conquer the day.  On the weekends, I often wait until after mid-day for a shower, but as soon as I take one I feel instantly refreshed.

9)       What one deceased person would you like an hour with?
Geez.  This is such a tough one to answer (and I wrote the question).  I simply can’t choose between an hour with Mike Maloney and my Grandma Phyllis.  There are many questions I’d like to ask them both, and many things I’d like to tell them.  Either way, I can’t imagine that an hour would be nearly enough time, but I’d love it nonetheless.

10)   If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would you guy and why? Have you been there before?
I have wanted to go to Paris for as long as I can remember.  My brother lived there for a summer a few years ago, and I so regret not visiting him while he was there.  My parents went a few years ago and loved it.  Scott sometimes asks me why Paris, and I don’t really have an answer.  It’s just calling my name.  I hope to get there before I’m 30.

11)   You have ten minutes to give a speech to college seniors.  What do you talk about?
This is though, because I’m only about five years out.  I’d probably talk about being open to new experiences and new people.  I’d talk about how you should work hard and live cheaply and save and travel.  And if there's something you've always wanted to do (live in NYC, backpack through Europe, be a bartender part time) that you should do it now before it gets even harder.  Oh, and I'd say that if there is ANY part of you that could handle staying in school, that you should delay the "real world" as long as you can (and education is a beautiful thing).

12)   What is your all-time favorite song?
My real answer is “When Everything Seems Wrong” by Ari Hest, but there are many that conjure up these all-time favorite feelings, like Carly Simon’s “The River” or Sting’s “Fields of Gold”.  It’s not the song necessarily, but the memories tied to them.

13)   If you weren’t in your current occupation, what would you like to do?
This is a no-brainer... I’d be a therapist.  So many of my family and friends seek my advice (if I do say so myself) and I love giving it.  I also think that I have the ability to see the 30,000 foot view often, which I think would lend itself well toward therapy.  Furthermore, though my life has been abundantly full of good things, having experienced many family “traumas” (death of a parent and grandparent, alcoholism, divorce, remarriage, stepsiblings) I think I’d bring a unique perspective to family therapy.

14)   Tell me about your family.
Since you're reading this blog you probably already know the answer, but I come from a family with parents who are madly in love, four younger brothers, and a hilarious, awesome extended family.   I also have a wonderful husband (sidenote: it's kind of strange that one day he's a "boyfriend" and the next he's family... strange but awesome) and grandparents, aunts and uncles and cousins.  I consider myself very tight with my family, both immediate and extended.

15)   What do you “know now” that you wish you “knew then”?
I wish I knew in high school that it wouldn't last forever, and that what - and more importantly, who - I thought was cool in high school would likely be the opposite in less than 10 years.  I spent far too much time worrying and not enough time having fun.

Thanks for reading!  If you'd like to be part of the Interesting Person Interview Series, please email your answers to theyearofthekate at gmail.com.   

No comments:

Post a Comment

I've turned word verification on because of spam comments. Apologies! I love your comments!